Home > Website Reviews > Bardbox

Bardbox

Categories: Website Reviews
  1. chirashidon
    March 10, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Out of all the sites, I enjoyed this the most. I guess it’s because bardbox has a lot of random Shakespeare videos. The videos are really unconventional, but they’re still “Shakespeare”. It’s really entertaining, and at the same time it really gets one interested in Shakespeare’s work.
    -Francisco Falgui

  2. March 10, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    I like the use of modern technology to reach out to a much larger audience. I also appreciate the effort of BardBox to seek out all those Shakespeare videos out there in the internet. The videos themselves are also really cool and creative.

  3. annnacarmina
    March 10, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I super like this site because it’s only site that didn’t push the snooze button on my brain :)) Maybe because it’s hella fun and I like the content too. It’s not boring AT ALL! If I were researching about Shakespeare, I would definitely go to this site first! 🙂

  4. March 10, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    bardox is addicting! despite not having the same features of the other sights that might be considered more advance, it actually catches my attention the most! It’s nice to see these different interpretations of people through different ways and mediums! it gives deeper understanding to what Shakespeare could be to so many different people.

  5. geloty32
    March 10, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    I found the site interesting because it contains a variety of Shakespearean references. It also takes away the certain ‘seriousness’ that one associates with these works and makes one feel that anybody can study Shakespeare. 😀

  6. theb3nj
    March 10, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Bardbox is exactly as promised: a collection of the best shakespeare videos on youtube. What I appreciate though, is the administrator’s comments telling us what to expect. His opinions make things seem more academic somehow.

  7. strobetrope
    March 10, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Yey Bardbox yey!

    I think that Bardbox is epic in that it bridges new media and its stereotypically “low brow” pop culture status in the face of “high brow” elitist ideas which Shakespeare is originally thought to represent. As the site says, “YouTube Shakespeare has been generally dismissed as home only to facetious and repetitive parodies”, (YouTube as new media) but Bardbox tells the world otherwise with its collection of smart, substantial and creative videos made by students. As much as Shakespeare stands to validate new media, new media also then validates Shakespeare, reinventing him (whatever he stands for) so that he becomes accessible to the youth, furthering his iconic legacy and reputation down in time.

    What I really like about Bardbox (besides all that above) is that it is archived really well, with proper details about the videos like the title, cast, etcetera so it is easy to go through it and to find material. I guess it also works really well with me because it speaks in the language of my generation. Anyway, I’m glad I have videos to watch when I’m stumped and bored over the summer 🙂

    – Meggie Ong

  8. humunahumuna
    March 10, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    I’m surprised these videos haven’t gone viral as hell yet because they’re really entertaining. The site itself owns its somewhat irreverent nature because of the tongue-in-cheek use of shakespeare’s language and serious-sounding commentaries on the different videos, which makes the whole experience even funnier. Shakespeare for today’s masses with short attention spans and penchant for humor, truly. 😀

  9. March 10, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Another site that I really enjoyed looking and browsing! It’s something very interesting and you can’t get enough of because of the different ideas that are posted in the website. This is a really fun site and not the typical academic Shakespeare site. Bardbox really emphasizes how Shakespeare can be seen in anything and anywhere. It’s very interesting to see the different ideas from around the world and how they have made Shakespeare their own.

  10. annelikewoah
    March 10, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    Out of all the sites, this is probably my favorite. It showcased Shakespeare in different ways and displayed him in a different and – if I may say so – more blithe light. I probably spent more time in this site compared to the amount of time I spend on cracked.com in a day (which is saying a lot). It eliminated the idea that Shakespeare is solemn and only for elites. It is modern, fun and witty. I can honestly say that I will be visiting this site again soon.

    -Anne Simpao

  11. acheegenpar0912
    March 11, 2011 at 12:29 am

    I think it’s absolutely incredible how creative those people can be. I mean, clashing Shakespeare’s romantic verse with the edgy sounds of an electric guitar? That’s such a daring and boldly artistic thing to do, though I wonder what they’re trying to say through that interpretation? Are they just trying to get a reaction out of stoic and conventional Shakespeare old-timers or do they honestly believe that there is a potent connection between heavy metal and that scene from Hamlet? I’m really curious to know the answer to that one. Any opinions anyone?

    With regard to the Synetic Romeo and Juliet, at first, I kind of saw it as a joke because I thought that the actors’ expressions were way too mushy and cheesy, but when I found out that it’s a WORDLESS interpretation of the play, and when I saw the elaborate dance sequences that they came up with in order to substitute the passion of the verses, I was suddenly impressed. They’re crazy dedicated and talented to have come with such a production!

  12. March 11, 2011 at 12:38 am

    It took me longer this time viewing this site. I enjoyed it! The rap part was sick! It was really hilarious. It’s so funny how people get their ideas nowadays. They are so good in mixing things up. In this way, they are able to make people appreciate shakespeare a lot better.

  13. March 11, 2011 at 12:40 am

    Although funny, it still expresses the originality of Shakespeare’s context.

  14. March 11, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Not the whole canon’s in it. Need more video materials. Good though they paced top 10 vids. Hate its randomness. Headaches for organizing my brain. =D

  15. March 16, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Wow, this site is sick! There are a lot of videos about Shakespeare and his plays, but the videos we can view here are different! All of them are unique, fun, and none of them are boring. I find one problem with this site though- some of the interesting videos can’t be viewed because they have been removed. But nevertheless, I’ll surely be visiting this site again soon because it is very entertaining.

  16. fuchsia08
    March 19, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    I find Bardbox interesting but strange as well because it includes all possible Shakespeare material, even those that you least expect. It’s very random in that it has no specific theme except that they are all ‘Shakespeare.’ But it does empower and gives one freedom to utilize, manipulate and exploit Shakespeare to his/her own ends. It implies the limitless possibilities you can create by using Shakespeare. I’m glad it filters, though.

  17. October 4, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    This blog puts a very unique spin to those sites put up time and time before to make performances of Shakespeare’s plays available online. I like how different kinds of people contribute to the many interpretations of his plays, and share them with others. It provides a wonderful way to keep Shakespeare alive. The randomness also makes Shakespeare more interesting to younger audiences, and eliminates the image of his works as “boring” by providing fun encounters with his texts outside of the classroom.

    • October 4, 2012 at 5:41 pm

      Cristelle Elaine V. Collera
      II AB Interdisciplinary Studies
      Ateneo de Manila University

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment