Home > Slide Shows/Photo Galleries > Finding the Perfect Pair

Finding the Perfect Pair

Shakespeare’s plays were made immortal through countless portrayals of different people with distinct cultures and nationalities. but for ages it has been the story of two star-crossed lovers that continually made our hearts pound faster and faster, making us want more of this feeling of love, young love. This is a collection of Romeo and Juliet pictures and adaptations.

Here is the link.

http://prezi.com/iy6mrwnxu1ux/romeo-and-juliet-transmedial-shakespeare/

 

JM Bacayo

Ateneo de Manila University

2 BS MGT

  1. isheee
    March 14, 2011 at 7:24 am

    I think it’s amazing that people have come up with anything Shakespeare, even merchandise that are targeted for the younger age groups. I particularly am curious about that board game with the name words Play’s Thing? Those little cardboard people intrigued me.

    Although I can’t help but wonder how much ‘Shakespeare’ can these kids actually know? I mean, the people who these were designated for. I’m assuming, around 7-12 years of age? If I would look back at the time when I was that young, I would have played with practically anything (because I never fully appreciated Shakespeare’s works then) and it would not have made a difference for me.

    I’m thinking that the groups who market these earn more from Shakespeare devoted people who buy it as a collector’s item. ๐Ÿ™‚ It would be a waste though, to not play with it. I mean, look at those Barbie dolls! ๐Ÿ˜€

    P.S. I can’t believe that the magnetic poetry kit actually exists! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I read about it in “The Rule of Four”, and I just never really thought that it does exist in real life. It just goes to show that Shakespeare is practically EVERYWHERE.

    • isheee
      March 14, 2011 at 7:27 am

      Define fail. Sorry, this is commented on the wrong post. :))

  2. isheee
    March 14, 2011 at 7:35 am

    NOW HERE GOES MY ‘REAL’ COMMENT FOR THIS ENTRY :))

    I think you’re right. We keep asking these questions “Who best represents Romeo and Juliet among all those who have portrayed them?”, but then we can never tell. Unless Shakespeare set parameters or a definition for the ‘perfect’ Romeo and Juliet. I mean, sure we have our own opinions but then it will always be different from one person to another.

    Especially with all these people who are dying to have their own rendition of Shakespeare’s famous tragic lovers. Although because of this, we have had our fair share of not-so-good Romeo’s and Juliet’s.

    All I can say is, Romeo and Juliet are so versatile that they even reached a football-inspired street adaptation! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  3. halcyonme
    March 17, 2011 at 12:52 am

    The search for the “best” pair among those who played Romeo and Juliet is, for me, a hopeless pursuit. It is because this quest is indeed very subjective as we have to take into consideration WHO determines what is “best” and WHAT defines being the “best.” The choice/taste also varies from one person to another, and I agree with this post’s author that “the best for now would not necessarily be the one tomorrow”– we also have to take into account the change of taste that goes along with the changing times. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

